Cutting For Stone

Book: Cutting For Stone

Author: Abraham Verghese

Short Summary:
Marion Stone and his twin brother, Shiva, are born literally joined together at a hospital in Ethiopia. Although their Indian mother, who was a nun, died in childbirth and their English father quickly fled after the boys were born, the twins were raised by two loving parental figures, both of whom were doctors. The boys grow up being surrounded by medicine and surgery. While spanning several decades, this book describes the experiences of Marion as he relates to his twin, family, faith, the girl he loves, surgery and medicine, the father he never met, and the differences of living in Africa and America.

My Thoughts:
Overall, this book was a winner. I found it hard to put down. One of the aspects of the book I liked so much was the magnitude of themes it covered.  The story took a look at the themes of love, betrayal, sacrifice, loss, faith, family, belonging, medicine, culture, and loyalty, just to name a few. This is the kind of book that can keep a book club talking very late into the night.

There is a lot of surgery and medicine in this novel, being that most of the characters are doctors. At first, I wasn’t sure how this was going to work for me as a reader since I know very little about medicine and doctor terminology. However, the author does a decent job of  guiding the reader along, whatever their knowledge of medicine may be. Sometimes I thought the detailed descriptions could have been cut down a little though. It was more important as a reader to acknowledge what the doctors were experiencing through the surgeries than the technical details.

Enter to win a free copy of Cutting for Stone! Must enter by March 21st. Click HERE for your chance to win!

Out of the many themes explored in this book, one I found particularly interesting was the idea of faith and medicine working together. The majority of the doctors in this book were also religious, would pray often, and had faith. People are often looked at as belonging to one field, science or faith. They tend to contrast each other. In this book, however these two ideas often seemed to work as one.

I would highly recommend this book. It was possibly a bit too long, but Abraham Verghese is an excellent storyteller. His characters are complicated and rich in emotion, as are the events they go through.

My Rating: 4.25/5 stars

(buy it!)

5 Responses

  1. Excellent review Julie; I loved this book so much.

  2. I came across this book at one other place recently, I forget where, but I’ve been interested in it since. Glad that you recommend it! I should add it to my wishlist. Good review!

  3. […] Cutting For Stone by Abraham Verghese […]

  4. […] Giveaway: Cutting For Stone! Posted on March 1, 2010 by juliebrichta In order to kick off March, I thought I would do a giveaway! I have so many books on my shelves and thought I would give one away so that I can share a great book with others (and clear up some room for new ones!) Cutting for Stone was an excellent book, filled with wonderful characters and incredible storytelling. It is long, but worth the read. Check out my review HERE! […]

  5. […] And The Winner Is… Posted on March 21, 2010 by Julie Thanks to everyone who entered for a chance to win my personal copy of Cutting For Stone. […]

Leave a Reply

