The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Book: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Authors: Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

Short Summary:
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is a novel written entirely in letters. Taking place in the late 1940’s, this book takes us into the life of Juliet Ashton, a writer living in London post World War II. She receives a letter from a man named Dawsey Adams due to a literary coincidence. Dawsey lives on the island of Guernsey off the coast of Normandy. This one letter leads to a series of correspondence between Juliet and many of the people of Guernsey. She learns of their lives during the German occupation and soon considers them dear friends even though she hasn’t met a single one.

My Thoughts:
There were many things I enjoyed about this book. The most enjoyable being the character of Juliet. She was so likable, had whit, sarcasm, charisma, and a strong sense of self. Her voice throughout the novel made it a delight to read.

Over the years I have made many friends through the internet. I have gotten to know people online better than I knew some people I interacted with on a regular basis in my real life. Juliet seemed to have this same bond with people through her letters and correspondence. I related to the way she made friends with people she didn’t even know.

Although I enjoyed this book, there were a few areas that bothered me. One was the number of characters. Because there were so many, I often had a difficult time keeping track of them. There were many characters I felt I wanted to get to know more, because if I did I think I would like them more.

I would recommend this book. It was a very touching story with a very strong protagonist. I learned a lot about the Guernsey Islands during the German occupation, which I honestly had never even heard of before. This book combines love, war, friendship, and books in a very clever way. And, of course, it has a fun name!

My Rating: 3.75/5
(buy it)

4 Responses

  1. For such a serious subject matter, the story manages to stay on the people. I really enjoyed this one.

  2. I’ve been curious about this book for quite a while, and in the process, heard many mixed reviews! I like your review, since it relates much to how I feel too, so probably I should like this book. I will give it a try!

  3. I loved Juliet too! I thought she was able to remain really positive through all of her hardships and I liked her as the glue in the story. Great review!

  4. […] The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows […]

Leave a Reply

