The Art of Racing in the Rain

Book: The Art of Racing in the Rain

Author: Garth Stein

Short Summary:
Through the eyes of the lovable dog Enzo, the story of Denny, his wife Eve, and their daughter is Zoe is told. Denny is a racecar driver who falls in madly in love with a woman named Eve. Together they have a daughter, Zoe, and life carries on happily for all. When Eve becomes extremely ill, the lives of this happy family are turned upside down. There is sadness, scandal, and separation. Enzo is there through it all, telling the story in the way only a dog can.

My Thoughts:
I’m not sure there are enough positive adjectives in the English language that can describe how wonderful this book was. I LOVED it and that is an understatement. From page one I was hooked. All I knew about this book was that it was told through the perspective of a dog. I thought that might be kinda lame. Boy was I wrong.

Enzo is a dog anyone would love. He truly was “Man’s best friend” and his bond with Denny was unbreakable. It was so interesting to read the dog’s perspective on humans and their situations. The humor that was intertwined in this perspective made me laugh throughout. I especially loved Enzo’s tv watching habits and learning about all his favorite actors.

Racing cars, Denny’s profession, was described in detail. The analogies that were made between racing and living and the way that Enzo described them were interesting and very true to life. “The car goes where the eyes go.” I took this saying to mean that you can’t turn away from your problems, you have to face them head on.

If you are a dog lover, or even just like dogs, even just a little bit, you will like this book. I actually think anyone who doesn’t like this book must not have a heart! It really has it all and while reading it I laughed, cried, smiled, and cheered. Whenever I need a feel-good book, this will be the one I will turn to. It is a very quick read and just so enjoyable. I really just could not comprehend how someone could not fall in love with Enzo and this book!

My Rating: 5/5 stars

8 Responses

  1. I’ve heard such good things about this book and I do want to read it. I’m a dog lover for sure! Just the cover of this book makes me want to read it!

  2. Sounds awesome Julie, I am in desperate need of a good read. I think I’m gonna read this one!

  3. Glad you loved this one. I have this on my TBR and your review makes me want to read it right now!

  4. I agree, this one stole my heart. LOVED ENZO.

  5. I loved this one as well. Come on over to my blog-I just awarded you a unique little award!

  6. Okay, you made me do it. I just ordered it from a book club.

  7. GREAT book i just finished it myself and had to share my love of it on my blog as well. BEing an animal artist and dog lover extremeist i was thrilled when a student of mine reccomended this to me. i want RECOMMENDATIONS ON MORE!!!! please leave a suggestion for a new book if u have one on my blog post i would love to know more.

Leave a Reply

