The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Title: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Author: Stieg Larsson

Short Summary:
Mikael Blomkvist, a journalist for the magazine Millenium , has recently been convicted of libel. When he takes a leave of absence from the magazine, he is hired by Henrick Vanger, a wealthy businessman. Vanger hires him to investigate the disappearance of his beloved niece Harriet who has been missing and presumed dead for forty years. Blomkvist moved away from the city to the quiet island of Hedeby to look into Harriet and an interesting assortment of possible suspects in the Vanger family. An unlikely partner, tattooed and unusual Lisabeth Salander soon joins Mikael on the case. Together they look into the Vanger family and discover secrets and scandal along the way.

My Thoughts:
Simply put, this book was awesome! I loved the characters, the mystery, and the family saga. It all just worked together so well. This one definitely had me turning the pages and I found myself gasping in surprise more than once.

The character of Lisbeth Salander, “the girl with the dragon tattoo” made this book what it was. She is one amazing and unlikely protagonist. Her intelligence and awkwardness combined with her mysterious background made her a character I really came to like and was eager to learn more about. My favorite part of the book was when she gets revenge on someone who has done her wrong. When I want revenge on someone, I dream of burning down their house or something like that. Not Lisbeth. Using her unique imagination she defined the meaning of revenge, but I won’t give it away. You will have to read it for yourself.

The combination of action, mystery, and character development made this book flow for me. I enjoyed learning about Mikael and his relationships, the intricacies of the Vanger family, and especially Lisbeth. I now feel invested in these characters and am excited to follow them through the next two installments of the Millenium trilogy.

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

5 Responses

  1. I’m stalled at the third book. I needed a break from his writing style…a really long break, evidently, because I started the book a few months ago.

  2. I have this one on my wishlist!! I sure hope to read this some day.

  3. I have the third book but haven’t started it yet. Don’t you just LOVE Lisbeth?? I love to see strong, smart women in literature.

    The movie comes out this Friday. Well it does in the US anyway. I plan to see it but probably won’t be able to until next week.

  4. I didn’t know about the movie! I loved Lisbeth too, and plan to read the other two books. I think it would be a good idea to take a break between books, though. I loved that this was set in Sweden. My grandmother was a Norwegian, and a Vangen, not a Vanger, but it was still a Scandinavian setting which I enjoyed very much.

  5. I can’t believe I STILL haven’t read this book! I feel like the last person on the planet to read this. Does it count if I have it on my shelves at home??

Leave a Reply

