Soundtrack Sunday- Love is a Mix Tape (Life and Loss, One Song at a Time

Following the lead of alita.reads I’ve decided to choose a song I would pick as a soundtrack to a book. She usually does this on Saturday, but I missed my chance yesterday, so here is my Sunday edition.

Book: Love is a Mixtape, (Life and Loss, One Song at a Time)

Author: Rob Sheffield

One Sentence Summary: Rob uses music and mix tapes tell the about his love story with his wife Renee and how he used music to deal with his loss of her.

Soundtrack Song: Mix Tape from Avenue Q

Why I chose this song: This song come from a musical called Avenue Q, which is almost like a Sesame Street for adults. In this song, Kate has been given a mix tape from the boy she has a crush on, Princeton. She trys to use the songs picked to discover if her crush returns the feelings.

In the book, Love is a Mixtape, (Life and Loss, One Song at a Time) Rob Sheffield describes the art of making a mix tape, spending time choosing just the right songs to convey a message. This book brought so many emotions and memories out in me. I have gone through this same painstaking process of creating the perfect mix. And it is not something you just make, but something you truly create. I made sure the songs were just right. I made sure there was a feel to my mixes. I spent hours agonizing over which artists to use, what genres were appropriate, what best got across my mood at the time. It truly was an art form. My songs brought out memories, much as Rob’s did. I never did receive a mix from a crush, but if I did, I’m sure I’d analyze it the same way Kate does in this song; the same way Rob would have as well.

If you have a chance to see this musical, I highly recommend it! So many great songs and moments. Another one of my favorites is “It Sucks To Be Me”.

“Sometimes when someone has a crush on you,
They’ll make you a mix tape to give you a clue.”

Enjoy!

2 Responses

  1. I saw this musical when I was NY a few years ago and it was great – so funny! Sounds like it was the perfect accompaniment for this book 🙂

    • I loved this musical too! I hope Cutting For Stone made it to you. If not it should be there soon! Sorry it took so long for me to send it!

Leave a Reply

