The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo: The Movie

I recently read and reviewed Stieg Larssson’s The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, originally titled Män Som Hatar Kvinnor; Men who Hate Women. This past weekend I had the privilege of seeing the movie. The book was translated to English, but the movie was in Stieg’s native language, Swedish, with English subtitles.

More times than not I am disappointed by a film version of a book I have read. There is often no way to translate much of what happened on the pages to the screen. I am happy to say that this film was an exception. It was excellent!

The casting was spot on when it came to Salander. Noomi Rapace’s portrayal of Lisbeth brought the character to life. Her performance was very much how I envisioned the character in my head while reading. She was dark, mysterious, and haunting. Michael Nykqvist also did a respectable job as Mikael, the journalist at Millenium investigating the disappearance of Harriet Vanger.

It is virtually impossible to have every detail of a book take place in the movie version. That being said, this film held true to the book. There were details downplayed or eliminated, such as Blomkvist’s relationship with Erika Berger, but nothing significant enough to detract from the story.

There are rumors that another version of this film is going to be made in the US. I think this is completely unnecessary. This version was excellent and the fact that it was in Swedish added to the authenticity of the story. It was a great foreign film and watching it with subtitles did not bother me in the least.

I’m not sure how many theaters around the country are showing this version. I saw it at Landmark Theaters which often plays indie or foreign films. If this is playing near you, go see it!

2 Responses

  1. I wasn’t a fan of the book, but am hoping I’ll enjoy the film a bit more. I think I’ll wait for the DVD to be released, but I am looking forward to watching it.

  2. I haven’t read this book, but the film was fantastic. By any standard, I think most people would think this movie was too long, but I say there wasn’t a moment wasted. I love a good mystery, and this one took it to a new level with a ton of awesome twists, and the half hour of suspense which caps off the ending was intense. The movie was well resolved, and no character was spared the faults of his or her “character.” Really well developed characters, and character histories. You won’t be sorry.

Leave a Reply

