Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea

Book: Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea

Author: Chelsea Handler

Short Summary:
Chelsea Handler is the loud mouthed late night tv talk show host of the show Chelsea Lately. In this comedic memoir we learn of the crazy antics that make up Chelsea’s life. She is not afraid to say what she thinks, and she does it with quick wit and often a potty mouth. This midget loving, redhead hating, vodka drinking girl has certainly gotten herself into some insane situations that can’t help but make you laugh.

My Thoughts:
If you think this book is a departure from my normal book choices you are correct. After reading books like Little Bee, Ella Minnow Pea, and Let the Great World Spin, this is most definitely something different. That being said, it was just what I needed. What I needed was something to make me laugh, and if there is one thing Chelsea can do well it is that.

I’ve recently started watching her show and I can’t get enough! Luckily she has 500 episodes so there is plenty to catch up on.

If you are looking for a break from serious books to read something light, quick, and humorous, then this is the book for you. Chelsea is rude, crude, and unafraid to share her thoughts. She’s my kind of girl.

My Rating: 4/5 stars

5 Responses

  1. I am glad to have read this review because I have seen this book around so much, and knew very little about it. It sounds like a perfect comedic read that might be just the ticket after some of the darker books I have been reading, and to be honest, who doesn’t love a little potty mouth now and then? Great review, I will definitely be looking into grabbing my own copy!

  2. I’m glad you liked this one! I read her book ‘My Horizontal Life’ for book club a few years back and we were all cracking up! It was a hoot 🙂 She’s pretty funny!

  3. I was surprised by how much I liked this book – a friend insisted I read it but since I don’t particularly like her show I was pretty sure I wouldn’t like the book. But I found it pretty funny!

  4. Well now, maybe I’ll give Miss Chelsea a chance.

  5. I would LOVE this book. I wonder if the library has it….

Leave a Reply

