Soundtrack Sunday: Let the Great World Spin

Following the lead of alita.reads I’ve decided to choose a song I would pick as a soundtrack to a book.

Book: Let the Great World Spin

Author: Colum McCann

One Sentence Summary: On August 7, 1974 a tightrope walker walked a wire between the two towers of the newly built World Trade Center above the city of New York. Below, the residents of the city were looking up in awe while living their lives.

Soundtrack Song: New York, New York by Ryan Adams

Why I chose this song: There are no shortages when it comes to songs about New York (here is a list of a ton), but I felt this song and video really captured the essence of the city. This video shows the chaos of it all, the rush. It shows the world spinning and the people trying to keep up. It is also eery that this was filmed on September 7, 2001, just a few short days before the attack on 9/11/01.

The world won’t wait, so I better shake that thing right out there through the door. Hell, I still love you, New York!

Previous Soundtrack Saturdays/Sundays:
Ella Minnow Pea
Love is a Mixtape (Love and Loss, One Song at a Time)

2 Responses

  1. What an interesting premise, to pick a soundtrack! I keep meaning to get and read this book, when I do I’ll have to try out the song with it 🙂

  2. I love Ryan Adams, starting when he was in Whiskeytown. I’ve heard this song before many times but had never watched the video. Wow — thanks!

Leave a Reply

