Secrets of Eden

Book: Secrets of Eden

Author: Chris Bohjalian

Short Summary:
The night of her baptism by the Reverend Stephen Drew, Alice Hayward is strangled by her abusive husband. He then went on to shoot himself. Soon, however, there are doubts about the murder, suicide, and who exactly was involved. Told through the perspective of four characters, the secrets of that one fateful night are slowly revealed.

My Review:
I listened to the audio book of this one, and I thought it was great. One thing I really enjoyed about this book was the telling of the story through four different perspectives. While I sometimes find this technique to be overused and inneffective, such as in Mudbound, in this case it worked. I also liked that each character told a whole quarter of the book. This really helped me get into their heads and understand their characters. It was much more effective than boucing back and fourth every chapter.

The four voices used in the audio book and the writing to represent the Reverend Stephen Drew, State Attorney Catherine Benencasa, author and angel loving Heather Laurent, and Alice and George’s teenage daughter, Katie Hayward were all very distinct and made this book interesting to listen to.

Some may say that the conclusion of the book was predictable and I would agree, but it did not detract from my enjoyment of the story. Secrets were revealed little by little, which kept the suspense high throughout the entire book.

If you like a highly suspenseful, well written story, this one is for you.

My Rating: 4.25/5

2 Responses

  1. I totally agree with you and wrote a positive review on my book blog too. I did not think the ending was predictable. I liked Bohjalian’s “Midwives” too. I have “Skeletons at the Feast” on my library list.

  2. I’m glad you recommend the audiobook! I’ll look for the same.

Leave a Reply

