June in Review

My cruise was fabulous! It was my first one and I can’t wait to have the opportunity to go on another one. Unfortunately, I didn’t get as much reading done as I would have liked. There was just so many things on the ship to do! I did get to spend some time in the beautiful library though, which was great.

June was a pretty good reading month for me. Since I’m no longer commuting to work, I have not been listening to audio books. It was kinda strange not to have any this month, but without the commute I don’t have the patience to listen.

I got five books read this month. Here they are:

  • The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
  • Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Love and Other Impossible Pursuits by Ayelet Waldman
  • Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok
  • The Stormchasers by Jenna Blum

I’m not sure any of these will go on my favorites of 2010, but that doesn’t mean they weren’t good. I think Half a Yellow Sun and The Red Tent were probably the best of the bunch.

July looks promising with so many good books to choose from. I am currently reading Pat Conroy’s South of Broad which I bought at the airport after accidently/stupidly putting my books in with the luggage I checked. I’m glad I did though, or I might not have had the chance to read this great book! I have about 200 pages left, but so far it’s fabulous. I think To Kill a Mockingbird is going to finally be read by me this month. The others I have yet to decide.

I hope everyone had a good June!

One Response

  1. Maybe not as many books read, but some great ones! I hope you have another opportunity to go on a cruise soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

