The Stormchasers

Book: The Stormchasers

Author: Jenna Blum

Short Summary:
Flashing back to two decades ago and resuming in the present, Stormchasers is a story of twins pulled together and torn apart by mental illness. Karena and her brother Charles are as close as twins can be, but Charles’ bipolar disorder pulls them both into a tragic situation. After being apart for years, Karena goes on a stormchasing adventure, in the hopes of reuniting with her estranged brother who has always had a passion for chasing storms.

My Thoughts:
After really loving Blum’s first novel, Those Who Save Us, I was expecting a lot from this one. It turns out I like this one, but didn’t love it. The characters were engaging and interesting, but for some reason I didn’t connect with them as much as I had hoped I would. I’m having a hard time describing why that is though.

One thing that stood out to me as a strength in the story was how Blum used storms as a metaphor for Charles’ bipolar disorder. The chaos and unpredictability of the weather were nicely mirrored in Charles’ behavior.

When I read, I always enjoy learning something new. I felt this book gave me a great background on stormchasing, a topic I know absolutely nothing about other than seeing the film “Twister” back in the day. I also learned more about bipolar disorder. This book was extremely well researched and put vivid images of storms into the readers’ heads.

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in reading  fiction about the complexities of mental illness or want to learn about something new. As a side note, this is one of the most gorgeous book covers I’ve seen in a long time!

5 Responses

  1. I’m not familiar with this author but like the premise of this story. Maybe I will start with Those Who Save Us.

  2. I added this to my wish list when I first saw it. My husband likes to watch (not chase) storms.

  3. oH TOO BAD, i DO HAVE THIS ONE ON MY SHELVES (UNREAD SO FAR).

  4. […] Turning the Pages reviews the book The Stormchasers by Jenna Blum, the story of twins “pulled together and torn apart by mental illness”. […]

  5. I have both of Blum’s novels on my TBR. And I really can’t wait to pick them.

Leave a Reply

